Health improvements in public schools

Improving nutrition in school food programs has been an on going debate. Every time I go into Whole Foods I see at least one poster advocating school nutrition improvement. For me, I don’t see the issue. The answer seems to very very obvious. Yes, school food programs should be improved. Poor eating habits don’t develop over night. I remember in middle school I couldn’t wait for the days when Chick Fil a or dominos would sell food products during lunch. The school cafeteria sold nachos, which consisted of chips and a mysterious kind of cheese, buffalo wings, Blue Bell ice cream by the pint,  and other non-healthy food items. Maybe those food options are why I now have an addiction to Chick Fil A and pizza. I’m not so sure. I can’t forget the infamous ice cream vending machine. But, this doesn’t sound like the best combination for a healthy nutrition. If I had been given healthier options, would I have chosen them over the greasy, delicious non healthy options? Maybe not, but this does bring light to the fact that schools have control over what their students are eating.

In high school the food situation was the same. Although the fast food chains weren’t catering to our school, the school lunch line served the same starchy foods. I went to the High School for the Performing and Visual Arts with a focus in dance, so my diet began to change. My instrument was my body , which meant that I needed to care of my body. I began bringing my lunch to school so that I could ensure I was having a nutritious meal. However, I remember being envious of my friends of who went to a private school in the city-they had a salad bar. I love salads and having them readily available would have been so convenient. I would have made the decision to eat a salad if I had the option.

If schools give children the option to eat healthy, or make it their only option, I’m sure we would see an improvement in children’s nutrition. Child obesity is a recurring issue in America, but it can’t improve if proper measures aren’t taken. An article in the NY times addressed this very issue.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ferb33
    Nov 14, 2010 @ 04:50:39

    I agree that proper measures need to be taken to combat childhood obesity. I remember my middle school having awful food, too. The smart choice would be to have schools provide only healthy options. But people would probably protest. I think the biggest influence kids have is their parents, so it’s up to them to get their kids on healthy eating habits. Unfortunately, many parents don’t eat healthy foods themselves, so I think the only way to successfully intervene would be to provide only healthy options in schools.

    Reply

  2. sloanegarvey
    Dec 02, 2010 @ 20:46:24

    I totally agree with you. I feel like I am constantly reading about lunch programs in schools, but can’t but think the school needs to work harder to improve this. Children develop healthy/unhealthy eating habits at a young age and once they are set they are hard to change. I think it is important to start off providing healthy meals to younger children and give them less unhealthy options. When I was in elementary school we also had Chic-Fli-A, Mr. Gattis, Taco Bell, and all sorts of stuff throughout the week, I loved these days. Just because it is fun for kids and they enjoy the unhealthy food doesn’t mean it needs to be so available. Kids are more likely than not going to pick the unhealthier options so taking those away seems like one of the only solutions. Schools could still offer something kids want on Fridays or once a week, but giving them less opportunities to eat junk will help kids realize that healthy food can be enjoyable too.

    Reply

Leave a comment